Home » Book3 » Chapter 51

Chapter 51

I felt all eyes turn to me as soon as I walked in.  Emily had been expecting Faakhir and by her face turning from surprise to anger, I could tell she didn’t welcome me.

“What are you doing here?  Faakhir was supposed to take care of you,” Emily said, and I realized that she knew exactly what had been happening, she knew that Faakhir was going to get rid of me, even if she didn’t realize how he was going to do it.

“Are you saying he was supposed to kill me?  After everything I did for you, that’s how you repay me?” I asked, my voice controlled and leveled, but threatening at the same time.  I was playing a role, showing them the person they needed to see.

“Where is Faakhir?” Emily asked, finally noticing that he wasn’t there.

“Where do you think?  Did you really believe that he could attack me and not suffer the consequences?  You made a big mistake the moment you decided you could play me.  The rules have changed, and I’m in charge now, you are no longer the Queen, I will take over your functions,” a roar of whispers started from the Representatives at my words, the volume growing as time passed.

“I am the one in charge, I am the Queen, my word is the law.  Now tell me, where is Faakhir?” She asked again, I could see how she was losing control as she started to understand the situation.

“Faakhir thought he could take advantage of me,” I said, refusing to confirm her fears, playing with her.

“Where is he?” She asked again, she was trembling and I could see she already knew the answer, even if she refused to acknowledge the truth.

“I’m afraid you won’t see him again,” I said.

“You are lying, there no way… You couldn’t… Where is my husband?” She asked, but not to me, she was addressing her question to the guards behind me.

“I’m sorry Your Majesty, but the King is dead,” Lim finally answered her.

Once her fears were confirmed by Lim, Emily lost control, a blood-curdling scream tore out of her throat, and she started falling apart right before my eyes, but I knew that was only the beginning, the battle was about to start.  People around us stopped whispering and started talking and screaming, some of the Representatives tried to leave the room, but the guards posted on the doors weren’t moving, they were following their instruction of not letting anyone leave, until told otherwise.  When they realized they were still trapped, some of them went back to their seats, others moved to the back of the room.  Meanwhile, Emily was calming down, but her face was a mask of hate and anger, and I could taste her need for revenge.

“Your time is over,” I said, “I am now in control of the Dominion.  You can accept that and recognize my claim to the throne, and I will let you live, you will be comfortable for the rest of your life, or you can oppose me and forfeit that life.  Make the right decision Emily, there’s no need for you to die.”

“How can you even suggest something like that?  I am the rightful Queen, I am the one in charge, and you will pay for your crimes.  What the hell are you waiting for?!” She asked her guards.  “Kill her!”

I heard the sound of guns being drawn, a sound so familiar that I could hear it over the sound of the Representatives.  But I didn’t hear any shooting, I only heard the voice of my men letting Emily’s know that they were outnumbered.

“You are wasting your time, I have more men than you,” I explained the situation to her, in case she missed it.

“They are mine, my guards, my people.  What are you waiting for?  I told you to kill her.  Don’t just stand there!  Do something!”

“I’m afraid you don’t understand.  You seem to know that I was never truly under Faakhir’s control, I just faked it so I could get close to you and be in a better position to take over.  You are no the first ones to think that you could control me and then regret it,” I turned my head and looked straight to Kimball, letting people think I was talking about him.  “You were so sure you had everything under control, you never noticed that I had been freeing some of your guards from Faakhir’s control, you didn’t realize that their loyalties were switching to me.  You may think you have control, but right now, my men are taking over all the key points in the Dominion.  You already lost Emily, there’s nothing you can do about it, all you can do is accept your destiny and accept me as your new Queen.”

For a moment nothing happened, but then Emily reacted, taking a dagger and running towards me.  One of his men tried to help, I could see, from the corner of my eye, I could see darkness gathering around him as he prepared his attack, but he never had the chance, Zhou shot him in the head, killing him instantly.  Emily reached me and tried to stab me, but the dagger hit my psychic wall.  Emily screamed her frustration and him my wall again, then he pushed her hands to it, and I felt her power, I could feel my wall barely holding her out, and I knew she was capable of breaking through my defenses.  I had never before experienced Emily’s power, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

“You still have a chance, all you have to do is surrender,” I tried to reason with her.  I knew that Sofia wanted another chance with her, but as time went by, I knew that the fight would end with one of us dead, most likely her.

Emily just kept screaming and I felt the place was starting to get affected.  I focused on keeping my defenses up, but I could feel her power building up, and I knew that soon I wouldn’t be able to keep my wall up, her powers was getting too strong.  The people around us was getting scared, some of them were using their own powers to keep Emily’s powers at bay, and I noticed that my men had also moved between us and the Representatives to help keep them safe if Emily’s powers got out of control.  I focused on her again, and noticed that her nose was bleeding, as her powers grew more and more out of control, the furniture around us was breaking.  She had crossed a line of no return, I knew what was happening, she had pushed too far and was having a psychic headache.  I felt my defenses crumbling and I knew that Emily was going to get her chance to reach me, but I couldn’t allow that, so I let my wall collapse and reformed my power as a sphere around Emily, to keep her contained.

I had just witnessed a person getting a headache a few times in my life, most people didn’t push her powers so far unless they were Maximas.  The main problem with getting a psychic headache was losing control, there was a point where they just couldn’t stop, their powers kept growing in strength reaching unbelievable highs, but there was a price to pay, the highest price of all: death.  I knew she was close, the first sight that she was gone was that her brain was bleeding, and it was so bad that I could see blood getting out of her nose, ears, and even eyes.  I needed to use all my power to contain hers, and for a moment I thought that wouldn’t be enough, I knew I needed to stop her before she could hurt all of us.  I pushed against her power, shrinking the sphere around her until it started to press against her body.  Our powers fighting each other were so strong that it pushed her up in the air, and I heard the screams and cries and knew everyone was able to see her.  Her body was contorting in impossible, unnatural ways.  Suddenly, the screaming and yelling stopped, everyone was just staring at Emily.  I kept pushing until I heard her bones breaking and knew she was gone.

As soon as I let my powers go, the energy that was holding her up disappeared and her body fell, she hit the ground as is she was a broken doll, her limbs twisted in unnatural angles. She was still bleeding, and I could see a small blood pool forming around her head.  The short, but intense fight had left me feeling drained, but I pretended I was ok, moving towards the platform Emily had been using before and taking her place at the front of the room.

“The King and the Queen are dead,” I told them.  “From now on, I am your new Queen.  Right now my men are taking control of the Dominion, the army is under my control.  It’s in your best interest to accept that I am in charge now.  Anyone who even thinks of opposing me will share Emily’s fate.”

“Kaiserin, you can’t do this,” Kimball interrupted me.  “It’s not right.”

“Since the first time you dragged me to your country, all you could talk about was how horrible they were, and now that they are gone you are complaining?” I faced him, still pretending that we weren’t on the same side.

“I don’t know if things would be better with you in charge,” Kimball said, he moved out of his seat and started walking towards me, his attitude was aggressive, and his advance was cut by two of my guards.

“Things don’t have to be worse with me in charge.  If you want, you can help me, it would be easier with you by my side.  You once said that things couldn’t get worse, maybe together we could make things better,” I said, coaxing him to my side.

“Are you really willing to listen to me?  Would you accept my suggestions?” He asked, his tone clearly showing skepticism, his acting perfect.

“You know what I want.  I am not vain like Emily, I don’t need luxury, I just need power.  Faakhir thought he could control me, Emily thought she could humiliate me, and now I will show everyone who is really in control.  If you want to help, if you think you could do a better job than Faakhir, you are welcome to try, all you have to do is remember who is in charge,” I signaled my men and they let Kimball move closer to me.

“I won’t let you make things worse for everyone, of that, you can be sure,” he warned me, in a tone low enough to pretend to be private, but low enough that some people could hear and repeat what he had said.

“You will be here to help and suggest, but I am the one who will have the last word,” I warned.  He had his back to the rest of the room, and no one saw his smile.  I did my best not to smile back, controlling my face, keeping it cold and threatening.  “Things don’t have to get complicated,” I signaled Onyesha and she activated the monitors behind me, showing images of the army walking through the streets of the most important cities in the Dominion.  “Right now my army is taking control of the dominion.  Your options are limited, you can either join me, or share the Queen’s fate.  No one can stop me now.”

I could hear the protests, but I couldn’t understand the words as the volume increased and the people got angrier, but I wasn’t going to let them take control of the situation.  I used my powers to send a wave of energy that pushed them away, just enough to show them my intentions, but enough to drain my energy reserves.  I felt Kimball grabbing my arm, the action could seem like a threat to others, but as he pulled me towards him, I knew he was only showing his support and giving me a chance to gather myself.

“Are you ok?  If you need energy, you can use mine, I’m here for you,” he whispered in my ear.  I knew that for the rest of the people the action would seem like a fight, not a show of support.

“I know that the actions today have taken all of you by surprise.  I will give you time to calm down, and go talk to your leaders.  Tomorrow we will gather again and make this official,” I signaled my men and a couple of them took Emily’s body and dragged it away.  “I hope that by tomorrow you will be ready to accept me as your new Queen.  I expect all of you tomorrow at noon, Representatives and Embassadors.  Those who don’t show up, will be assumed to be against my rule and will be hunted down, your guilds or countries will also face the consequences of your actions.”  I didn’t wait to see if they understood and agreed with my directions, I walked our of the place, with Kimball following me.

“We did it,” Kimball said once we were away from their ears.  “Emily and Faakhir are finally gone.”

“We already took the first step, but there is still a lot of work to be done,” I said back.

Leave a Reply

