Home » Book4 » Chapter 80

Chapter 80

As soon as I started to come back, I noticed the smell of delicious food, and realized right away that I was starving.  I opened my eyes and saw the dishes in front of me immediately, not wasting any time I took the closest one and started eating.  I realized with the first bite that Kimball was the one responsible for cooking such a delicious meal, I could recognize it any place.

I heard laughter and when I turned to the origin or the sound I found Kimball, I extended my hand to him and as soon as he took it I pulled him closer so I could steal a kiss from him.  More laughter and a groan made me finally realize we weren’t alone in the room, in fact, we were still in the same room as before I had gone into the fog.

“It’s good to have you back with us,” Kimball said as we ended the kiss, “you got us worried for a while.”

“How long was I in trance?”

“Several hours,” Ethan said, moving behind me and giving me a brief hug.

“What happened?” Pompeyo asked.  “Ratu said you were supposed to be right behind her.”

“I needed to make some things clear, and teach Fedelm a lesson so she would finally learn not to mess with me.”

“She is still in a trance,” Ratu said, she looked tired and a little worried.

“And I’m sure she will be for a while longer.  I would suggest to put an IV in her to keep her hydrated.  If she doesn’t come back in another 24 hours I will go back and make sure she comes back.”

“Is he lost?  Is that like going into the astral planes?” Alukah asked.

“It’s not the same, she is lost in time, trapped in a vision in the fog of the future, but she will be fine soon, she is strong, and part of the strength of a seer resides in the ability to find your way.  She is there because she is trying to find and help the rest of her people.”

“Some of the seers already woke up,” Inionri said.

“Those who swore their loyalty to me and promised not to hurt me or mine, that includes Ratu, were taken to the exit, the others are still trapped.  I’m really sorry, Pompeyo, but I think you will lose a couple of seers, at least.  Not all that come back are able to keep their head straight.”

“Those still there defied my orders, they deserve whatever happens to them.”

I couldn’t help but to smile at his words, the loyalty he felt toward his sister was first, and that was huge.  Ratu was about to face some difficult times and she needed all the support she could take.

“Eat,” Kimball said, pushing the plate in my direction, reminding me how hungry I was.  Even if I should have been angry at his command, I was so hungry I forgot to protest and just started eating again.

“What’s the plan?” Inionri asked.

“I think there’s not much we can do right now,” Ethan said, taking control of the situation and letting me eat in calm, “other than giving the seers an IV to keep them healthy, there nothing we can do but wait.  We still have some meetings scheduled, so I would recommend we all take as much time as we can to sleep and rest, you have the General’s breakfast in a few hours and then the meeting with the rest of the clan leaders.”

Pompeyo stared at Ethan, he knew he was right, and that it was important to keep acting as if nothing was happening, he couldn’t let the rest of the clans know that he had an issue with his own people, in fact, he needed to come up with an excuse for his action the previous day.  His only problem is that he didn’t want to follow Ethan’s advice.

“Some rest sounds great,” Maddan said.  “I can send a group of people to take care of the seers and then prepare a different room for tomorrow’s meeting… or move the meeting for later.  What do you think, Emperor?”

“Go ahead.  Sleep sounds good right now.  Tomorrow we will take care of Fedelm and will decide what to do with the other seers.  Maybe it’s time to change some things, their isolation has made them think they are not part of the clan, and they can’t forget who is in charge here.  I’m afraid that I will have a very serious talk with Fedelm once she wakes up.”  Pompeyo looked at his sister and I could tell they were having a silent conversation.  I didn’t need to hear to know what they were talking about, or to tell they were thinking about the brother they shared, Fedelm’s son.  Anything they did would end up affecting him, and apparently neither of them wanted that.

Little by little people left the room, a group came in to take care of Fedelm, but other than them, me and my family were the only ones in the room, even Antrax had left at some time.  When my hunger was satisfied, I started to feel tired.

“I think it’s time to go,” Kimball said, taking me into his arms.

“Let me down!” I demanded immediately, but he only shook his head and kept walking.

“At this time only guards are walking through the hallways, and even if that wasn’t the case, you must be exhausted, and it’s my right to take care of you, so you will have to endure my help.”

I tried to get angry at Kimball, but it was hard, so I just allowed him to carry me to the room.  Even if the time we had to rest was short, I felt so much better when he woke me up for the meeting.  As usual, he had everything ready to start a new day.

Everyone was curious about what had happened the previous day, but Pompeyo didn’t allow them to move from the main topics of discussion, it was necessary to reach an agreement before the other leaders left for their respective clans.

“What’s most important right now is that those who share a border with the Rebel Clans talk to Malkia so you can agree on how to conduct negotiations with them.  I also have to insist for you to start thinking how you want to deal with the people from the other world powers.  Soon we will be opening for trade with the Rebel Clans, the new Light People and the Dominion.  All of this can be good for you, if you just allowed it to be.”

Most of the clans’ resistance was gone, a few weren’t convinced yet, and I was sure that in the next few weeks, or maybe months there would be some conflicts, but Pompeyo had changed a lot and his reign was very strong, I trusted he was going to be able to face any issues presented to him.  Besides, I was there to help in any way I could.  For me it was very important to make sure my clan was doing well, despite what some of them thought.

Once the meeting was over, they announced the time and place for the feast that would close all festivities that year.  There were a few hours to go before the feast and I still had a few things to talk about to Pompeyo.  Luckily, he was thinking the same, and before I walked away, he sent me a psychic message letting me know he wanted to meet with me in another, smaller, room.

I arrived with Kimball and found that Pompeyo wasn’t alone, both Ratu and Inionri, as well as Alukah and Maddan were with him.

“What’s going on?”

“Fedelm is awake, and it seems that most of the seers also woke up, Fedelm says that those that aren’t awake are already lost,” Pompeyo said.

“If you wish it, I can go into the fog and look for them, I told them I would only help if they turned their backs on Fedelm, but I think we are past that at the moment, we can forget about that, and their minds will already be affected, one way or another for being on that place for so long.”

“Do it, if you want, but as I said, they ignored my orders, therefore they are not a priority.”

“But we do have a problem we want to discuss with you,” Inionri said, “Fedelm insists that Ratu needs proper training to focus and control her powers, and that if she doesn’t agree she will face problems sooner or later, and will most likely end up lost in the fog.”

“That’s not entirely wrong.  One of the reasons Melchizedek asked me to visit him before I woke up as a seeress was because he wanted to offer to be my teacher, he knew I would need that help.  I have to be honest, I’m not the best option to teach Ratu, and I could offer Fatima’s help, but she told me herself that Ratu’s potential is bigger than hers, and even if Fatima has been a great help to me, I also had Melchizedek and Sofia to guide me, and they are two of the most powerful seers in the world.”

“What are you trying to say?  You won’t help me?” Ratu asked, angry.  I was about to remind her that I had already helped her by giving her the protection she needed to stay away from Fedelm, but she was right, my help wasn’t much good if I couldn’t help her to control her powers.

“I have a better idea, in fact.  We already talked about how important it is to have a presence in the Dominion, and about the possibility of sending an Ambassador to act as a bridge between the Empire and the Dominion.”

“I thought we already had one, with you,” Pompeyo interrupted.

“But I can’t be all the time in Capital City, I have other responsibilities.  Having someone there full time is in your best interest.”

“I don’t get it, I thought we were here to talk about my daughter, not the relationship between the Empire and the Dominion.”

“Queen Sofia is one of the best seeress in the world, and she lives in Capital City, I’m sure if I ask her, she will have no problem teaching Ratu all she needs to control her powers,” for a moment they were silent, they were finally understanding my point.

“Do you want me to go into hostile territory and put myself in the hands of a woman I don’t know?” Ratu asked.

“If I thought you would be at risk, I wouldn’t suggest it, but you will be safe there.  Capital City is a place that was created as a way to have a neutral place where all the countries in the Dominion could co-exist.  It has a strong military presence which only job is to keep peace and stop fights between members of the Dominion, that would include you.  You only have to stay there long enough for Sofia to teach you what you need to survive in the fog and be at peace with your visions.”

“When you went into the fog you asked Kimball to contact Melchizedek and Sofia, but it was Melchizedek who came to your aid,” Pompeyo pointed out.

“Sofia was asleep, because of the time zones it was easier to contact Melchizedek, but if he hadn’t been available, I’m sure that Sofia would have come help her,” Kimball said, “she owes us a lot, and will do whatever she can to pay.  You can trust her.”

“What do you think?” Pompeyo asked his sister.

“In a way I would feel better if it was Kaiserin who taught me what I need to know about clairvoyance, but if she thinks this is for the best, then I obviously would prefer the best.  My only goal is to be useful to you and our people, and if that woman, Sofia, is the best, that’s what I want.  If being there also helps us, I will do that, I’m not afraid of anything.”

“I know, I know you are not afraid, but right now all I want is what’s best for you.”

“And I can assure you Sofia is the best.  Besides, she only needs a few months.  If she is not looking for a position like Fedelm’s, all she needs is to learn the basics to be able to live with her visions without going crazy or losing herself in time.  It could be a short time, or longer, depending on her wants and needs, but I’m sure that’s for the best.  We will be leaving tomorrow, but if you need more time to think about this, all you need to do is call me and I will come for you and take you to Sofia.”

“I don’t think I need more time, I will be ready to leave tomorrow.”

After a while, each of us went our separate ways, we still needed to get ready for the feast, and I knew Ratu needed some time alone with her family.  I knew that her problems with Fedelm had affected her family relationships, Fedelm had been, after all, one of my brother’s women, but as much as it pained me, I had never been part of that family.  My fight with Fedelm in the fog had made it clear who was stronger between us, and also had proven that we would never be able to be on the same side.

Leave a comment